Game Design – Week 8 – Logic, Flowcharts, and Coding

“Binary code” by Christiaan Colen is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

When asked the most important thing I should teach my students, the MIT student I was interviewing simply stated , ‘ teach them logic.’ – Mr. Le Duc

SUMMARY

  • This week is like all other week, I mostly read novels and do some work.

PRACTICE ROOM (TUTORIALS)

PlayCanvas

Screenshot from Sololearn.com

Unity

Screenshot from Sololearn.com

CLASSROOM (THEORY & ANALYSIS)

Image from https://monkeyblogmonkeydo.com/2010/07/19/so-duh-pop-quiz-classic-video-game-flowchart-edition/
  • Steps to create a flowchart
    • 1.Think out in your head a sketch what you are about to do and what are the steps that gonna be involve
    • 2. Create the start and end box
    • 3.Put the steps in one by one and connect the line
    • 4.Check for any spelling or grammar mistake
    • 5.Polish the diagram to make it look better and more presentable
    • 6.Export the diagram into a file

Mr. Le Duc’s Flowchart Shape Guide

More Flowchart Creation Resources

LAB (THEORY PRACTICED)

  • [I didn’t really understand what you mean with (Try to create your own game flow for one of your game ideas) so I made 2 diagram of what you could have meant]
  • How I come up with concepts
  • How the game will go Idea #5
  • Making the diagram is not as easy as it seem I took most my time thinking of is the chart detailed enough or is it too detailed.

OUTSIDE (CREATIVITY & THE BRAIN)

  • Set a timer
  • Spend up to 35 minutes,
    • 20 minutes watching Elizabeth Gilbert
    • 15 minutes walking
  • Watch Elizabeth Gilbert discuss creativity and genius
  • Go for a walk outside and think about what she said, if you can safely
  • Write anything you found interesting and useful in your reflection
  • DELETE ALL OF MR. LE DUC’s INSTRUCTIONS, AFTER YOU ARE DONE

STUDIO (GAME DESIGN)

  • Set a timer
  • Spend up to 60 minutes in this ‘room’ on either ONE of the game engines below, (NOT BOTH)

PlayCanvas

Screenshot from Daniel Wood’s YouTube Channel Playlist

Unity

Screenshot from Unity.com

WHAT I LEARNED and PROBLEMS I SOLVED

  • Tell your daily story here!  Highlight what you learned and enjoyed most and at least one problem you solved. Problem-solving is one of the most important skills you need in life. Employers want to know HOW you get stuff done as much as WHAT you got done.
  • Today after woke up, I make my breakfast and begin reading. most of the time (today included), I read to get more concepts/ideas for my writing, so most of the time I only read 100 or so chapter of one books. After that, my parents told me tell me to help out with lunch. After lunch I go out for a walk usually 15 min but around this time it’s really cold so I only go for about 5 min. then I go in do my homework until dinner and then I read just keep reading till 9 (usually I write ideas out at this time but today I don’t feel like it so I just read then I go to sleep. today I solved the problem on how to read faster and still understand the story.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *